Formalities

When does my homework have to be there?

Your work results for the homework must be in the post office of the HTW Berlin on the WH campus by 15 July at the latest. The postmark of the HTW Berlin confirms that the homework has been received by the deadline. You can send the homework assignment by post or submit it in person at the mail room.

How can I package my homework?

Please label all work (sheets, notebooks, data carriers, packaging etc.) with your name / address and your applicant number (you will receive this through the online application). Present your work in a folder / box / crate or something similar. Folders are accepted up to a size of DIN A 0. Boxes / cases may be a maximum of 50cm wide and deep, a maximum of 25cm high and should not weigh more than 8kg. Pack everything well, address it to the post office with the note: Game Design Application. Please do not forget the sender.

Please note in the online registration that you will submit your portfolio by post or in person and also activate the declaration of authorship for your work there. 

Tip: It is good if the commission can read the chosen setting on the portfolio before looking at the papers. This makes us curious and sets the mood.

Which data carriers can I submit?

Please do not submit any data carriers, but use the upload function of the aptitude test portal instead. Digitale und interaktive Arbeiten sollen die Dauer von zehn Minuten nicht überschreiten. Digital and interactive papers should not exceed ten minutes in length. Digital submissions should additionally be available in an appropriately printed form.

Tip: It can always happen that the technology goes on strike. Play it safe and print out screenshots, renderings, 3D models, etc. so that we can definitely see something. 

The works are viewed for 10min each. What about board games?

Some applicants develop board games based on their setting. These games are tested extensively by a group of students before they are handed over to the commission to be tested again. For 10 minutes, the commission (4 people) deals intensively with each homework assignment. This is a lot of time, also considering that professionals can perceive and judge more quickly due to their professional experience.

Can I collect my homework again?

If you pass the aptitude test and enrol, you will receive your application in person during the first week after the start of the semester. If you have not passed the homework assignment, you or a person appointed by you can pick it up at HTW Berlin. Details and dates will be sent to all applicants via the online registration. Please understand that due to the large number of applicants, we do not return portfolios by post.

Formalien

Wann muss meine Hausaufgabe da sein?

Deine Arbeitsergebnisse zur Hausaufgabe müssen bis spätestens 15. Juni in der Poststelle der HTW Berlin auf dem Campus WH sein. Fällt der 15. Juni auf einen Sonntag oder einen Feiertag, gilt der nächste darauf folgende Werktag. Der fristgemäße Eingang wird durch den Posteingangsstempel der HTW Berlin bestätigt. Du kannst die Hausaufgabe postalisch zusenden oder persönlich in der Poststelle einreichen.

Wie kann ich meine Hausaufgabe verpacken?

Bitte versehe alle Arbeiten (Blätter, Notizbücher, Datenträger, Verpackung etc.) mit deinem Namen / Adresse sowie deiner Bewerbernummer (erhältst du durch die Online-Anmeldung). Präsentiere deine Arbeiten in einer Mappe / Schachtel / Kiste oder etwas ähnlichem. Mappen werden bis zu einer Größe von DIN A 0 akzeptiert. Schachteln / Kisten / Koffer dürfen maximal 50cm breit und tief sein, maximal 25cm hoch sein und sollten nicht schwerer als 8kg sein. Bitte lege die Erklärung der Autorschaft (Online-Anmeldung) zu deiner Arbeit. Alles gut verpacken, an die Poststelle adressieren mit dem Vermerk: Game Design Bewerbung. Bitte den Absender nicht vergessen.

Tipp: Günstig ist es, wenn die Kommission das gewählte Setting schon vor dem Betrachten der Ausarbeitungen auf der Mappe lesen kann. Das macht uns neugierig und stimmt schon mal ein.

Welche Datenträger kann ich einreichen?

Folgende Datenträger können eingereicht werden: DVD, CD, USB-Speicherstick, SD-Card. Wir haben die passenden Abspielgeräte vor Ort. Digitale und interaktive Arbeiten sollen die Dauer von zehn Minuten nicht überschreiten. Digitale Einreichungen sollten zusätzlich in angemessen ausgedruckter Form vorliegen.

Tipp: Es kann immer passieren, dass die Technik mal streikt. Geh auf Nummer sicher und drucke Screenshots, Renderings, 3D-Modelle u. ä. aus, damit wir auf jeden Fall was sehen können. 

Die Arbeiten werden jeweils 10min betrachtet. Was ist mit Brettspielen?

Einige Bewerberinnen und Bewerber entwickeln Brettspiele auf Basis ihres Settings. Diese Spiele testet eine Gruppe von Studierenden ausführlich, bevor diese in die Kommission gereicht werden und doch nochmals geprüft werden. 10min lang beschäftigt sich die Kommission (4 Personen) intensiv mit jeder Hausaufgabe. Das ist sehr viel Zeit auch in Anbetracht, dass Profis durch ihre Berufserfahrung schneller wahrnehmen und beurteilen können.

Kann ich meine Hausaufgabe wieder abholen?

Wenn du den Eignungstest bestehst und dich immatrikulierst, bekommst du deine Bewerbung in der ersten Woche nach Semesterbeginn persönlich ausgehändigt. Solltest du die Hausaufgabe nicht bestanden haben, kann diese von dir oder einer von dir beauftragten Person in der HTW Berlin abgeholt werden. Details und Termine dazu gehen allen Bewerbern über die Online-Anmeldung zu. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir aufgrund der hohen Anzahl an Bewerbern keine Mappen per Post zurückschicken.